TERROIR

Mica-schist and “Leithakalk” – a unique regional marine limestone – are the geological gems for viticulture in the region. Hard, meagre mica-schist forces vines to drive their roots deep and concentrate their vigour in just a small quantity of fruit. Limestone comprised of fossils of ancient marine crustaceans from millions of years ago lends the wines depth and unique mineral character. Many days of sunshine paired with cool nights along with the proximity to Lake Neusiedl and the forested slopes of the Leitha Mountains lend refreshing vibrancy. This comprises a terroir that is unique in the world.

TRADITION

The wines of the Leithaberg region in Burgenland are exemplified by their inimitable and pure style. The Leithaberg DAC label stands for environmentally conscious viticulture and pronounced regional character. Preservation of authenticity is the premier focus. Allowing wine time to evolve naturally is a prerequisite. Every drop of Leithaberg wine thus carries a recognizable signature and expresses the essence of a unique cultural landscape of timeless beauty.

DEPTH

The Leithaberg vintners are strongly committed to their region and environment and are passionate about their work and their wine. This deep emotional connection and commitment to the highest quality result in the creation of exciting wines. Leithaberg DAC white, made from Grüner Veltliner, Pinot Blanc, Chardonnay, and/or Neuburger as well as the Leithaberg DAC red from Blaufränkisch excel with pronounced minerality and finesse. Both Leithaberg DAC wines are “reserve” wines: the white wine does not enter the market before an entire year after the harvest and the red Blaufränkisch not before two years.

GRAPE VARIETIES

Chardonnay, Weissburgunder (Pinot Blanc) und Neuburger – three grape varieties that are grouped as “Burgundian” – define Leithaberg DAC wine styles with their delicate fruity aromas, crisp acidity, exceptional spice, and elegant mineral character. Vinified in used wooden casks, these varieties pair outstanding complexity with freshness and vibrancy even in a matured state.

Grüner Veltliner from Leithaberg excels with taut structure and savoury spice that is highlighted with elegant acidity. Leithaberg Grüner Veltliner gains in complexity with age and is a versatile accompaniment to food.

Blaufränkisch, the Leithaberg red wine variety, pleases with subtle spiciness, dark berry aromas, delicate structure, and a distinctive freshness due to its vibrant acid structure. As it ages, tannins becomes finer grained and the wine increasingly elegant. Maturation in large wooden cask enhances the aroma and texture. This is an appetizing wine with superb ageing potential and enough structure to offer a broad array of dishes more than worthy accompaniment.

VINTNERS

Weingut Markus Altenburger www.markusaltenburger.com
Winzerfamilie Artner www.artner-wein.at
Weingut Bayer-Erbhof www.bayer-erbhof.at
Weingut Stefan und Christine Berger www.weingut-berger.at
Weingut Dr. Hans Bichler www.bichler-weinbau.eu
Birgit Braunstein www.weingut-braunstein.at
Weingut Eberherr www.eberherr.at
Esterházy Wein www.esterhazywein.at
Weingut Fink www.hermann-fink.at
Weingut Grenzhof-Fiedler www.grenzhof-fiedler.at
Weingut Gmeiner www.weingut-gmeiner.at
Weingut Hahnekamp-Sailer www.hahnekamp-sailer.at
Weingut Toni Hartl www.toni-hartl.at
Weingut Gernot & Heike Heinrich www.heinrich.at
Leo Hillinger www.leo-hillinger.com
Weingut Hofbauer hofbauer.weingut@aon.at
Weingut Hoffmann www.wein-hoffmann.at
Weingut Höpler www.hoepler.at
Remushof Jagschitz www.remushof.at
Winzerschlössl Kaiser www.weingut-kaiser.at
Weingut Stefan Kast www.stefankast.at
Winzerhof Kirchknopf www.winzerhof-kirchknopf.at
Weingut Kiss www.weingut-kiss.at
Winzerhof Ronny Kiss www.winzerhof-kiss.at
Weingut „Kloster am Spitz“ www.klosteramspitz.at
Weingut Koppitsch www.wein-koppitsch.at
Weinbau Köllerhaus www.koellerhaus.at
Weingut Kreiler www.kreiler.at
Landesweingut Burgenland www.weinbauschule.at
Weingut Lassl www.weingut-lassl.at
Weingut Leeb www.weingutleeb.at
Lichtenberger González www.lichtenbergergonzalez.at
Weingut Lichtscheidl www.weingut-lichtscheidl.com
Weingut Liegenfeld www.liegenfeld.at

Weingut MAD – Haus Marienberg www.weingut-mad.at
Weingut Mariel www.mariel.at
Wein und Schnaps Mariell www.mariell.at
Weingut Hans Moser www.hans-moser.at
Weingut Nehrer www.nehrer.co.at
Weingut Anita & Hans Nittnaus www.nittnaus.at
Weingut Hans & Christine Nittnaus www.nittnaus.net
Weingut Franz Pasler www.franzpasler.at
Weingut Martin Pasler www.martinpasler.com
Weingut Piribauer www.piribauer.net
Weingut Pluschkovits www.pluschkovits.at
Weingut Familie Prieler www.prieler.at
Weingut Christian Rainprecht www.rainprecht.at
Weingut Reichardt www.weingut-reichardt.at
Weingut Martin Reinfeld www.wein-reinfeld.at
Die Winzerei Ringhofer/Pairits www.winzerei.at
Robitza wein www.robitza-wein.at
Weingut Rouschal Wetzer
Weingut Sailer www.josef-sailer.at
Hubert Sandhofer www.hubertsandhofer.com
Weingut Sattler www.sattler-seeblick.at
Weingut Johann Schlösinger www.schloesinger.at
Weingut Schneider www.weingut-schneider.at
Schullerwein-Markus Schuller www.schullerwein.at
Schumich Stefan www.weinhaus-schumich.at
Weingut Sommer www.weingut-sommer.at
StephanO DAS-WEIN-GUT www.stephano.at
Steurer Hannes  www.hannessteurer.at
Weingut Tinhof Erwin www.tinhof.at
Weingut Tinhof Leopold www.weingut-tinhof.com
Weingut „Schurli“ Tschank Georg www.weingut-tschank.at
Weingut Wagentristl www.wagentristl.com
Weingut Welkovits www.welkovits.at
Weingut St. Zehetbauer www.zehetbauerwein.at

logo-web-transparent

Johannesstraße 25 | 7082 Donnerskirchen | AUSTRIA
+43 650 / 54 00 411 | wein@leithaberg.at | www.leithaberg.at